movies, review

Movie Review: Star Trek (2009)

I realize that I am possibly the last person the Earth that has seen the 2009 reboot of the Star Trek franchise. It’s been on my list of movies to watch since it came out and I recently had the opportunity to see it. I must say that it was one of the most cleverly imagined reboots that I’ve ever seen.

I grew up watching the Star Trek string of movies starting with Wrath of Khan.  Oddly enough, I still have not yet seen the original Star Trek motion picture.  I was familiar with the Star Trek franchise growing up but I was much more into the Star Wars saga.  I remember seeing Star Trek episodes when I visited my aunts and uncles but I very rarely watched them on my own.  Given that history, when I saw Wrath of Khan I was blown away.  The campy series that I remembered seeing was very well done as a major motion picture.

When this new movie was being announced on all the rumor/blog sites, I thought it was going to be another attempt at retelling the same story with some new director/writer spin to the story.  To me, there’s nothing worse than someone retelling a story and changing it without explaining why it’s now different (see my review of Clash of the Titans).  When I actually sat down and watched this Star Trek movie, it was immediately clear that they were changing the franchise and actually made why it was different a major part of the movie.  This was a movie where I sat down after finishing it and thought about what I had just watched.  I was impressed at how well the director/writer did at setting up an entire re-imagining of the franchise.  The best part is that with how this movie was written, this version of the franchise is not obligated to follow most of the original franchise’s timeline.  There is a common history between the two franchises but that common early history is a part of the Star Trek timeline that I hadn’t seen discussed (aside from the “Star Trek: Enterprise” series).

Leave a Reply

